From Tokyo.

UPDATE: I’ve now posted the Tsukiji Market Gallery, which includes my first two videos posted on this site.

 

I write from my hotel room at 10:14 a.m., Tokyo time.  About to head out to a series of appointments, then in the late afternoon, take the Shinkansen (“Bullet Train”) to Kyoto.  This morning I finally got to Tsukiji Fish Market (the world’s largest).  Something I’ve always wanted to do.  Within a day or three I plan to put up a gallery of photos from Tsukiji, but for now these will have to do.  R.

.

082

Tsukiji Fish Market. Tokyo. Nov 2009.

.

Tsukiji.  Nov 2009..

040

Tsukiji. Nov 2009.

 

I was there from around 5:00-6:00 a.m., late in the day for Tsukiji.

.

 

    • Lois
    • November 5th, 2009

    Ah Ben, so much unchanged.
    Now this — this is time travel of the best sort.
    Ne?

      • letsjapan
      • November 7th, 2009

      Time travel. Indeed…

    • Karl
    • November 6th, 2009

    Very good. I can’t wait to see the others. Looks like a set from some sort of fantasy film noir…

      • letsjapan
      • November 7th, 2009

      Karl,

      Thanks so much. Aren’t our lives, all of us, in some sort of fantasy film noir? I know I am.

      I’m going to do an entire gallery on a place here in Kyoto called Rub-a-Dub. You’ll really see noir with that.

      Sadly, Soul Bag and Motown are both closed. Days gone by. Days gone by. But D’/Soul Sonic Boogie* and tranqroom, with a purposefully little “t”, remain, as well as Zac Baran (I have no idea what that means) and an incredibly tiny (even by Japan standards) sake bar owned by Israeli expat, Yoramu.

      R

      ___________________
      * See photo taken 5 or 7 years ago on front page of this blog, one front page back.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

