Tetsuwan Atomu & Kyoto Station

.

Tetsuwan Atomu. Kyoto Station. 2009.

.

I’m not a particularly big fan of “Atom Boy”.  I remember the cartoons as a boy, but I was in the Loony Toons camp (Roadrunner, Bugs Bunny, etc.).  I just like this photo (above) I took in front of Kyoto Station this past November and wanted to feature it here on LetsJapan.Wordpress.Com .

Actually, a big, Hollywood-produced Astro Boy movie came out just a few months ago.  I’m not sure how well it did at the box office.  But I hope it did well.  Donald Southerland voices the evil “President Stone”.  Just saw Southerland — as “Oddball” (Big Joe: “What are you doing?” Oddball: “I’m drinking wine and eating cheese, and catching some rays, you know.” —  the other night on a 40th Anniversary showing of “Kelly’s Heroes”( simply one of the  best movies  ever).    Anyway, Astro Boy (rather, 鉄腕アトム  Testuwan Atomu – “Steeled Atom Boy“, sort of) real icon in Japan, and, as noted in a very comprehensive Wiki entry, the Astro Boy manga, then cartoons, were really the precursor to today’s anime, a billion $$$ industry and entertainment phenomenon.  So that’s certainly saying something.

Kyoto Station. North Side, Central Entrance Astro Boy. November 2009.

At Kyoto station there are three, tall, information kiosks out in front.  Be careful about telling someone that you plan on meeting them at the one with the Astro Boy / Tetsuwan Atomu on top:  there are 2 topped by Astro Boy, and one topped by Kimba, whom I never liked (much, much too saccharine, even for me as a little kid).

A few more views of Kyoto Station, all taken in early November, below.

.

.

.

.

.

.

    • Dick Echols
    • January 17th, 2010

    Hey, Richard – I’m jealous of your photographer’s eye.

      • letsjapan
      • January 17th, 2010

      Dr. E –

      Thanks much. I just point the camera and click. Well, there’s a little more to it, I suppose. I’m
      back on-radar this week. Kind regards,

      R

    • David Case
    • January 17th, 2010

    Hi Rick–I love the photos. I can barely remember “Astro Boy,” but if it paved the way for “Kyoto Love Story” (now the title doesn’t look right), then it’s worthwhile.

    I saw “A Single Man” yesterday. It was excellent. I just wish they’d make a movie in which a gay man is not a victim of something: I think a movie focusing on a gay man doing laundry would do amazing things for people’s awareness.

    Cheers,

    David

      • letsjapan
      • January 17th, 2010

      Dave,

      Thank you so much. Really. I think that, perhaps, you’re sitting on a cool screenplay, the one about the laundry. At least there’d need to be a car chase, you know. And a sidekick robot.

      R

  1. September 1st, 2010

Leave a Reply

