Kurosawa Month Continues on Turner Classic Movies. 黒澤 明

Turner Classic Movies (TCM) is a U.S.-based television network that shows (obviously) classic films 24/7.  I’m not sure, but I would suspect that satellite tv users can access TCM from around the world.

March 23, 2010 marks the 100th anniversary of the birth of Japanese directing legend Akira Kurosawa.  His films, from “Ikiru,” to “The Seven Samurai,” to “Ran” have amazed and delighted and moved audiences for over half a century.  His influence on world cinema and directors from John Ford to George Lucas to Francis Ford Coppola to Martin Scorsese (and, as an American, I confess multitudes of filmmakers around the world whose names I don’t know) is unmatched.

In honor and celebration of what would have been Kurosawa’s 100th birth-month TCM will continue its month-long salute to the films of Kurosawa tonight (Tuesday, March 16) with “The Bad Sleep Well,” “High and Low,” “Red Beard,” and “I Live in Fear.”  Next Tuesday, March 23, Kurosawa’s actual birthday, TCM will celebrate with a FULL DAY of Kurosawa films, including “Rashomon” (at 8:00 p Eastern, 7:00 p Central U.S. Time), and “ The Seven Samurai (“Shichi Nin no Samurai)” (9:30 p Eastern, 8:30 p Central).

You can find the full schedule to tonight’s and next Tuesday’s Kurosawa films on TCM by clicking either of the TCM links above, then clicking on the “Scheludes” tab at the top of the page.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: