Getting to, waiting for, or on the train.

These were all taken in May, about 2-&-a-1/2 months ago, either on trains or in train or subway stations.  Most of these are new to LetsJapan.Wordpress.Com, but there’s one that I know I featured on this Home Page back in June.  I like that in many of them there are so many individual stories going on, split-second slices of what a person’s thinking, side-by-side or intertwined with the person next to them.  Many of these are taken in or near Shinagawa Station, which was next to the hotel the group I was guiding stayed while in Tokyo.  Tell me what you think.  I may be featuring a couple of these in Birmingham ArtWalk, where I’ll be showing next month.

.     .     .

Salaryman. Tokyo. 2010.

.

Shinagawa Station. Central Entrance. Tokyo. 2010.

.

Ebb & Flow. Shinagawa Station. Tokyo. 2010.

.

Keeping Occupied. Tokyo. 2010.

,

Sunday Morning. Yamato-Saidaiji. 2010.

.

On the Yamanote Line. Tokyo. 2010.

.

Kyoto Station. 京都駅。 2010年05月29日。

.

Shinagawa Platform. Tokyo. 2010.

.

Update. Yesterday a friend of mine from back in college days sent me the following message after visiting this little gallery:  “I like these pictures, but they’re giving me the idea that Japan is noir, while I’ve always thought of it as a color explosion.”  I answer Dave with this:

Jidohanbaiki. Kurodani Temple. November 2009.

By the way, yes, that bright yellow can, the one that’s on the middle row, third-in from the right, is “Banana au lait.”

.

    • michelle
    • August 14th, 2010

    My fav is Keeping Occupied. Girl with crossed arm(s) – I like her serenity.

      • letsjapan
      • August 14th, 2010

      Thanks, Michelle. So many little stories going on in the heads of those who stepped into the photos . . .

  1. I like “Sunday Morning”: the old man with Kimonoed wife, pervin’ on the legs of the chick with the piled-high hair in front. Nice shot, Richard.

      • letsjapan
      • August 15th, 2010

      Heh. Now Saul, you don’t know that that’s what he’s . . . oh well.

      Perhaps there’s something allegorical here. One never knows when there may be a camera around. Hopefully not a surveillance one. Of course I harbor no guilt regarding “capturing” an emotional, or otherwise, moment: these are all public spaces, of course!

      Anyway, so good to hear from you Saul.

      R.

    • writechic
    • August 15th, 2010

    I always love the way you frame a shot, Richard. I’ve noticed in the color shots you do that there’s a sameness in the palette as far as the images of commercial items go. Is that you choosing to shoot those particular colors or is that Japan?

      • letsjapan
      • August 15th, 2010

      Writechic,

      Thank you. Regarding “framing” a shot, I have to give a lot of credit to a woman named Mary, from a long, long, long time ago (when the world was young, and I was a lot younger) who taught me a great deal about framing and cropping shots. As for the color palette, I’m not exactly sure what you’re driving at, but I do go through phases. Right now I’m not particularly drawn to glaring color riots, which I find a bit distracting from the form of the image itself. See my friend’s, Dave’s, comment, and my response, in the post-proper above (the “Update”).

      Thanks again for stopping by.

      R.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

