My Other Life

I started this blog about 18 months ago to promote a small group trip to Japan and as an outlet of sorts for my cultural itch, to create a few photo galleries and have a place to post Japan and other Asia-related short stories.  My other life is that of an attorney and businessman.  Yesterday, Ms. Sibylle Ito’s (a Swiss businesswoman living in and all-in-all loving Japan) posted her interview of me in her business & culture blog, “Where Mt. Fuji Meets the Matterhorn.”  We talk business in Japan, some of the dynamics of a “rising China” as it relates to Japanese business culture and other such topics.  I hope you’ll check it out.  I appreciate Sibylle’s offering me the chance to discuss these things.

U.S. Companies in Japan. Photo of mine - inside Kyoto Station, Nov 2009 - which appeared in the May 2008 Birmingham Business Journal.

    • Steve Butler
    • April 8th, 2011

    “In the 20 or 30 years ago today’s Japanese executives were mere underlings, were just beginning their corporate careers. They’re continuing to model their actions based on what they learned back then.”

    There’s a saying in (modern) military studies that goes (approximately) “The generals are always fighting the last war.” (‘Last’ meaning ‘previous’ not ‘final’)

      • letsjapan
      • April 8th, 2011

      True, that, Steve. And applicable here. Sorry for the inartful sentence. Don’t know if that was my fault or a little transcription error. It’s meaning comes through, though, I think.

      R.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

