Itinerary.

Izakaya. Tsukiji (Tokyo). 2009.

I’m going to just refer friends and others who deign to express interest in my upcoming return to Japan to this post.  Note to those who can read Japanese:  I don’t 行く to Japan, I 帰る.  I say, 「ただいま!」 (under my breath and to myself; a symbolic thing) as I walk off from the plane onto the jetway going into Narita Airport (I miss that NW Detroit-Kansai Kukou route), and 「行ってきます」 (even more symbolic) as I walk back down the jetway towards the plane that’s going to take me to the U.S.  Let’s get that straight.  It’s certainly just a mind game I play, but it’s mine and it’s sincere.

.

Tokyo ( July 30 )

Kyoto ( July 31 – Aug 2 )

Tokyo ( Aug 3 – 8 )

Kyoto ( Aug 9 – 14 )

August 15 . . . to Tokyo, Narita, the U.S.

July 30 – August 6 has me working 100% for one U.S. client.  We’ve got a day trip into Osaka.  That’s as much as I can say.  From the afternoon of August 6-14 I’ll be somewhat working on a few different projects (meetings and such) and, hopefully, will have or make the time to see long-time friends and colleagues, make some new ones, take a couple of contemplative walks, eats some good (and missed) food, visit a couple of galleries.  A part of me is already looking forward to the next time.

Kawabata Street. Kyoto. 2009.

.

An old friend I plan on visiting. Kurodani-dera. Kyoto. 2005.

.

If you wonder at the sentimental, as well as professional, attachment I have to Japan, just read a few of the stories and check out some of the galleries.

.         .         .

Addendum:  In case any of you are wondering, no, I’m not going to get up to the Tohoku Region (that was so decimated by the tsunami on March 11) this trip.  Time, budget.  However, much will need to be done over the next several years, perhaps decade, so I look forward to doing something, some modest or small something, to be part of revitalizing Coastal Tohoku.

 

  1. Your eye for interesting perspective and balance (as seen in the roofs of the ryouanji walls and many other photos) is extraordinary. I wish i could be in Kyoto but your photos are the next best thing — and sometimes better.

    For my okaeshi, here is the most entertaining kyouka read today in the course of my research:

    琴高のかたかきたるに

    此鯉の料理は何かよかろうの相談ならばわれものるべし 也有

    If you don’t get it, show it to the most cultured (bunkajinppoi?) sushiya-san you know or someone well-versed in literature and art who also likes to cook.

    敬愚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

