Tornado in Japan ・日本で竜巻: 1 killed, 40 injured.

Earlier today — May 6, 2012 — a tornado (竜巻 – Tatsumaki) tore through Tsukuba (つくば市), Japan. Here are a couple vids of it, via YouTube:

.

.

The Japan Times Online is now reporting 1 killed and 40 injured.  I’m sure this will be updated over the next 24-72 hours.  Excerpt from article:

“A teenage boy died, around 40 people were injured and up to 500 houses were damaged Sunday after apparent tornadoes hit Ibaraki and Tochigi prefectures, north of Tokyo, prompting Ibaraki Gov. Masaru Hashimoto to ask the Self-Defense Forces to be deployed for disaster relief. . . .”

.

Kyodo News Photo: Tornado Damage in Ibaraki Prefecture.

Tsukuba, home to Tsukuba Science City and Japan’s space agency, JAXA, is just Northeast of Tokyo.  It’s in Ibaraki Prefecture, which is also home to the city of Hitachi, Birmingham, Alabama’s Sister City.  Metro Birmingham’s been hit by tornadoes again and again over the past year or so.

Tsukuba, Japan.

I’ll update as I get more news…

.          .          .

As LetsJapan.Wordpress.Com readers may know, we’ve some history with tornadoes here in the U.S. Deep South, too.  Much of that quite personal for me:

+  March 1, 2012:  Tornado rips family property, my mom’s safe.

+  April 27, 2011:  Tornado devastates my college town, lumbers within a few miles of my house.

    • Alyse
    • May 8th, 2012

    Oh what an absolute shame.😦 I’m sad to see this happened, although I am thankful that it was not a larger scale disaster. I pray for a swift recovery for those injured! And let the boy rest in peace!

    I am going to look up an update of this, and I will be sad if the numbers have been raised.

  1. I was pleased to see that Jeff Masters gave some space to this at his blog at Weather Underground. The good news seems to be that at the time of his posting, there had been no more deaths reported, although the number of injured had increased to 48.

    I was curious about the latitude of the two locations – 36N in Japan, 31N in Alabama. I’m sure there’s no direct correlation at all – it’s just one of those little weather curiosities that pop up in the midst of these stories.

    I also noted from Dr. Master’s article that tornados are quite rare in Japan – let’s hope this is the last for a while!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

